FROM APRIL 13 TO APRIL 23 2017

FREE ENTRANCE

 

 

Séries Mania Season 8 : The cultural marathon of 2017 spring !

 

The Series Mania festival was launched in 2010, and in the space of a few editions has emerged as the major annual public and professional gathering dedicated to international television creativity.
Building on the success of the seventh edition, which welcomed 40,000 spectators and 1,300 industry professionals, Series Mania will broaden its reach yet more this year. Its audacious programming will be brought to a wider geographical audience in Paris, promising everyone from the simply curious to the hard-core binge-watcher some rich moments of TV series enjoyment.
 
The eighth season of the event is a spring cultural marathon. On the menu is a selection of around 60 series, including 31 world or international premieres, along with more than a dozen digital series. At the heart of the festival is the official competition, presided over by showrunner Damon Lindelof, numerous audiences with creators such as Adam Price and Jimmy McGovern and outstanding actors, like Julianna Margulies and Justin Theroux, plus the launch of some new sections.
 
With 150 screenings over 10 days, Series Mania has enhanced its capacity for audiences and events thanks to some new partner venues – the UGC Ciné Cité Les Halles multiplex, the Grand Rex, the UGC Normandie, the Centre Pompidou, the Luminor Hôtel de Ville, and the UGC Ciné Cité Rosny – plus of course the festival’s home venue at the Forum des Halles. This will offer unique exposure to these works encompassing the intimate and the universal.

 

The Official Competition

 

Introduced in 2016, the Official Competition of world and international premieres this year features an expanded selection of 10 series. After David Chase, this year Damon Lindelof, the talented showrunner of Lost and The Leftovers, will be jury president. Alongside him will be four renowned artists, who between them will decide on the Grand Prix, the Special Jury Prize, and two new awards this year, Best Actor in an International Series and Best Actress in an International Series.
 
The selection will feature the best of European creativity, represented by series from Germany, France, Norway, Denmark and the United Kingdom, competing alongside Hollywood productions and works from territories whose output is less well-known, such as Israel and Australia.
 
A renewal in genres can be observed, notably in the thriller and its variants, with gangster series like 4 Blocks set against a Berlin backdrop, thrillers like Monster with its stylized approach, or the portrait of a future serial killer (Born to Kill). Comedy is undergoing a similar renewal through Kim Kong, with its strong dose of the absurd;
The selection provides the opportunity to discover the American drama series I’m Dying Up Here, chronicle of a stand-up troupe in the 70s.
 
These fictions combine audacious formal approaches, such as Seven Types of Ambiguity from the Australian Tony Ayres, and some singular visions of society, such as the biting feminist series I Love Dick by Jill Soloway, the humanist portrait of contemporary England from Jimmy McGovern, Broken, the immersion into the tension between private life and politics in Ride Upon the Storm by Adam Price, or the moral and family dilemma in Your Honor by Shlomo Mashiach and Ron Ninio.

 

New sections

Pleasing the audience is one of the primary missions of Series Mania. For the first time, festival-goers are invited to special screenings, with an exclusive look at new seasons of hit series. Even the most diehard fans will be spoilt for choice: The complete season 2 of Dix pour cent with its impressive cast, Le Bureau des Légendes (season 3), and Hero Corp
(season 5). The non-French selection also offers a rich choice, with the second seasons of Occupied, The Missing, Sense8 and Master of None.
 
Elsewhere, the festival is opening its line-up to series which have marked the collective imagination and the history of TV series. This new section, “Series Mania Cult Shows”, offers the chance to (re)discover a wealth of animated series for adults from Fox, notably the intergenerational phenomenon of The Simpsons, spending a night in the company of the Masters of Horror, or an immersion in the gay community of Queer as Folk (UK), while the 20th anniversary of Buffy will be celebrated through a conference.
 
For all those who hold a certain nostalgia for French TV from the 1980s, the festival has partnered with INA to offer two trips down memory lane: Pause Café, in the presence of Véronique Jannot, alias Joëlle Mazart, the social worker with an understanding of youths, and La Famille Ramdam, an iconoclastic series that took on some societal issues.

 

 

Wish you all a great festival !

DU 13 AU 23 AVRIL 2017

ENTRÉE LIBRE

 

 
 

Séries Mania Saison 8 : LE marathon culturel du printemps !

Créé en 2010, le festival Séries Mania s’est imposé en quelques saisons comme le rendez-vous annuel grand public et professionnel consacré à la création télévisuelle internationale.
 
Fort d’un succès sans précédent lors de sa 7e édition – 40 000 spectateurs, 1 300 professionnels accueillis -, Séries Mania va rayonner encore plus largement cette année. Sa programmation audacieuse et sa couverture géographique élargie à la région francilienne
promettent, aux simples curieux comme au public le plus averti, de riches heures sériephiles.
 
Cette 8e saison est le marathon culturel du printemps. Au programme, une sélection d’une soixantaine de séries dont 31 avant-premières mondiales et internationales ainsi qu’une quinzaine de séries digitales. Au cœur du festival, la compétition officielle, présidée par le showrunner Damon Lindelof, de nombreuses rencontres avec des créateurs tels qu’Adam Price et Jimmy McGovern ou des acteurs exceptionnels, à l’image de Julianna
Margulies et de Justin Theroux, et la création de nouvelles sections.
 
En organisant 150 projections pendant 10 jours, Séries Mania renforce sa capacité d’accueil et événementielle avec le concours de nouvelles salles partenaires – l’UGC Ciné Cité Les Halles, Le Grand Rex, l’UGC Normandie, Le Centre Pompidou, Le Luminor Hôtel de Ville et l’UGC Ciné Cité Rosny – et Le Forum des Halles, pour donner une exposition unique à des œuvres convoquant l’intime et l’universel.
 

 

La compétition officielle

Initiée en 2016, la compétition officielle d’avant-premières mondiales et internationales élargit cette année sa sélection à 10 séries.
 
Après David Chase, c’est Damon Lindelof, le talentueux showrunner de Lost et de The Leftovers, qui sera le président du jury. À ses côtés 4 personnalités artistiques renommées décerneront Le Grand Prix, le Prix Spécial du Jury et deux nouvelles distinctions cette année, les Prix d’interprétations féminine et masculine.
 
Au sein de cette sélection, le meilleur de la création européenne, représenté par des séries d’Allemagne, France, Norvège, Danemark et du Royaume-Uni, est en lice aux côtés de productions hollywoodiennes et de territoires au savoir-faire largement reconnu, tels qu’Israël ou l’Australie.
Le renouvellement des genres est à l’œuvre notamment dans le polar et ses variantes : la série de gangsters telle que 4 Blocks ancrée dans le paysage berlinois, le thriller avec Monster à la mise en scène stylisée ou encore le portrait d’un serial killer en devenir (Born to Kill). La comédie n’échappe pas au phénomène avec Kim Kong, fortement colorée par l’absurde.
Cette compétition offre l’opportunité de découvrir la série dramatique américaine I’m Dying Up Here, chronique d’une troupe de stand-up, dans les années 70.
 
Ces fictions allient partis pris formels audacieux, telle que Seven Types of Ambiguity de l’australien Tony Ayres, et visions singulières de la société. À découvrir la nouvelle création mordante et féministe I Love Dick de Jill Soloway, le portrait humaniste de l’Angleterre contemporaine signé Jimmy McGovern, Broken, la plongée au cœur des tensions entre l’intime et le politique avec Ride Upon the Storm d’Adam Price ou encore le dilemme moral et familial, avec Your Honor de Shlomo Mashiach et Ron Ninio.
 

 

Les nouvelles sections

Faire plaisir au public, voici une des missions phares de Séries Mania. Pour la première fois, les festivaliers sont conviés à des séances spéciales, en exclusivité, avec la projection de nouvelles saisons inédites de séries à succès. Les fans les plus inconditionnels auront l’embarras du choix : la saison 2 de Dix pour cent en intégrale et son casting impressionnant, Le Bureau des Légendes (saison 3) ou encore Hero Corp (saison 5).
La sélection étrangère ne manque pas de panache. À découvrir, les saisons 2 de Occupied, The Missing, Sense8 et Master of None.
 
Par ailleurs, le festival ouvre sa programmation à des séries qui ont marqué l’imaginaire collectif et l’histoire sériephile. Cette nouvelle section, « Séries Mania Culte », propose de (re)découvrir un florilège des séries animées pour adultes de la Fox, avec notamment le succès intergénérationnel de la famille Simpson, de passer une nuit en compagnie des Masters of Horror ou de s’immerger dans la communauté gay de Queer as Folk (UK) tandis que les 20 ans de Buffy se fêtent en conférence !
 
Pour tous ceux qui ont une certaine nostalgie de la télévision française des années 80, le festival propose avec l’INA deux « petites madeleines » : Pause Café, en présence de Véronique Jannot, alias Joëlle Mazart, l’assistante sociale à l’écoute des jeunes et La Famille Ramdam iconoclaste mais porteuse de vrais sujets de société.
 

 
Nous vous souhaitons à tous un très bon festival !