THE WINNERS

This evening, Series Mania announces the winners of the festival’s eighth edition, during the closing ceremony. The festival is the creation of the Forum des images, and is dedicated to new French and international TV series.
Eleven winners were selected from around 60 series in competition.
 

 

INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION

The jury for the eighth edition, presided over by Damon Lindelof and comprising Aure Atika, Agnieszka Holland, Eytan Fox and Clément Manuel, attributed four prizes among 10 international series in competition.
According to Damon Lindelof “Series Mania is the most professionally produced and remarkable festivals I have ever attended. […].Every television series I viewed was extraordinary… the most challenging aspect of the competition was narrowing down an excellent field to just a few awards. Not only was the scope of the shows diverse internationally, but diverse ideologically. From comedies to drama, it was simply astonishing how unique each series was. This is truly a new golden age of television
 

 

GRAND PRIX :

YOUR HONOR


Israeli series created by Shlomo Mashiach and Ron Ninio. Directed by Ron Ninio. Produced by Koda Communication, yes-DBS. Broadcast in Israël by yes.
For its surprising and provocative examination of judgment in modern-day Israel and anchored by riveting performances, Your Honor dives deep into the human soul and doesn’t flinch at what it finds there stated the Jury.
 
SPECIAL JURY PRIZE

I LOVE DICK


US series created by Jill Soloway and Sarah Gubbins. Codirected by Jill Soloway, Andrea Arnold, Kimberly Peirce and Jim Frohna. Produced by Amazon Studios. Broadcast in the US and in France by Amazon Prime Video.
[…] For its fresh, original and exhilarating presentation of passion lost and found again, I Love Dick is as intellectual as it is sexy, not to mention incredibly funny – It makes us laugh and makes us think declared with great enthusiasm The Jury.
 
BEST ACTRESS

ANNA FRIEL – BROKEN


Anna Friel, for her role in the British series Broken, created by Jimmy McGovern, Shaun Duggan, Colette Kane and Nick Laether. Codirected by Ashley Pearce and Noreen Kershaw. Produced by Jimmy McGovern, Donna Molloy, Colin McKeown and Sean Bean. Broadcast in the UK by BBC One.
The jury said that Anna Friel breathes life into her character with stunning honesty […]. She is heartbreaking and stunning performance leaves no question as to why this show is called “BROKEN.
 
BEST ACTOR

KIDA KODHR RAMADAN – 4 BLOCKS


Kida Khodr Ramadan, for his role in the German series 4 Blocks created by Marvin Kren, Hanno Hackfort, Bob Konrad, Richard Kropf. Directed by Marvin Kren. Produced by Wiedmann & Berg Television. Broadcast in Germany by TNT Serie.
Ramadan’s nuanced performance moves between brutality and empathy in the blink of his wounded eyes. Mr. Ramadan crackles with raw power and emotion as he takes a role we’ve seen before and turns it upside-down, creating a character that is unpredictable, yet undeniably human recognized the Jury.
 

 
AUDIENCE AWARD
For the audience’s favorite among brand-new series, votes being cast after each screening.
 

THE GOOD FIGHT


US series executive produced by Robert and Michelle King, Phil Alden Robinson, Ridley Scott, David Zucker, Liz Glotzer, Brooke Kennedy and Alison Cross. Produced by CBS Television Studios in association with Scott Free Productions and King Size Productions. Broadcast in the US by CBS All Access.
 

 

FRENCH SERIES

A competition for new French series, brought together in a special section and screened for the first time, in the presence of their cast and crew. Prizes are awarded by an international press jury for:
 

BEST SERIES

TRANSFERTS


French series created by Claude Scasso and Patrick Benedek. Directed by Olivier Guignard and Antoine Charreyron. Produced by Panama Productions, Filmagine, Be Films and ARTE. Broadcast in France and Germany by ARTE.
 
BEST ACTRESS

OPHÉLIA KOLB – ON VA S’AIMER UN PEU, BEAUCOUP…


Ophélia Kolb, actress in the series On va s’aimer, un peu… beaucoup. Created by Emmanuelle Rey-Magnan and Pascal Fontanille. Produced by Merlin Productions, Fontaram Productions and France Télévisions. Broadcast in France by France 2.
 
BEST ACTOR

ARIEH WORTHALTHER – TRANSFERTS


Arieh Worthalter, actor in the series Transferts French series created by Claude Scasso and Patrick Benedek. Directed by Olivier Guignard and Antoine Charreyron. Produced by Panama Productions, Filmagine, Be Films and ARTE. Broadcast in France and Germany by ARTE.
 

 
THE JURY:
Malik Cocherel (Journal de Montréal & Huffington Post Quebec)
Henry Chu (Variety)
Susanna Alperina (The Russian Newspaper)
Cecilie Asker (Aftenposten)
 

&nbsp
THE DISCOVERY PRIZE
Awarded to the series that has best challenged the codes of the genre at the festival, by the ACS, the French Critics Association.
 

MISSIONS


French series created by Julien Lacombe, Henri Debeurme and Ami Cohen. Directed by Julien Lacombe. Produced by Empreinte Digitale. Broadcast in France by OCS.
 
THE JURY:
Julia Baudin (TV Mag)
Florian Etcheverry (Clapmag)
Anne Héligon (Les Fiches du cinéma)
Guillaume Nicolas (Daily Mars)
Marie Turcan (Business Insider)
 

&nbsp

INTERNATIONAL PANORAMA

The Bloggers’ Prize is awarded to the best international series enjoying its French and European premiere at Series Mania.
 
 

JUDA


Israeli series created by Zion Baruch. Directed by Meni Yaesh. Produced by Universal Studios of Israel. Broadcast in Israel by HOT and in France by SFR Play.
 
THE JURY:
Agathe Gardie (Séries Chéries)
Gwendal Guillemoto (Les Plumes Asthmatiques)
Laurine Sassano (Broadcasting Bino)
David Speranski (Retro-HD)
Thomas Wachnicki (Smallthings)
 

 

WEB AND DIGITAL SERIES

A competition for world-premiere screenings of web and digital series before they are released online. The winner is awarded the Prize for Best Web or Digital Series by an industry jury.
 
 

LOULOU


a French series created by Alice Vial, Louise Massin, and Marie Lelong. Directed by Fanny Sidney. Produced by La Onda Productions (Thibaud Ader). Broadcast in France and Germany by ARTE Creative.
 
THE JURY:
Jérôme Fansten (director of the digital series Amnesia)
Eric Laroche (Head of Development at Empreinte Digitale)
Titiou Lecoq (novelist and journalist at Slate.fr)
 
Besides, theWebsurfers’ Favorite were descerned to

AHI AFUERA / OUT THERE

created and et directed by Nicolas Perez Veiga, this digital series will be broadcast by Studio +.

SÉRIES MANIA DÉVOILE SON PALMARÈS !

Créé en 2010 par le Forum des images, le festival Séries Mania, dédié aux séries télévisées françaises et internationales en avant-première, dévoile son palmarès ce samedi 22 avril 2017, à l’occasion de la soirée de clôture. Onze prix ont été décernés parmi la soixantaine de séries présentées.
 

 

COMPÉTITION INTERNATIONALE

Le jury de cette huitième édition, présidé par Damon Lindelof et composé d’Aure Atika, Agnieszka Holland, Eytan Fox et Clément Manuel, a attribué quatre prix parmi les dix séries présentées en avant-première mondiale et internationale.
Pour Damon Lindelof « Séries Mania est le festival le plus professionnel et remarquable auquel j’ai jamais participé […]. Chacune des séries que j’ai pu y voir étaient extraordinaires. Le plus grand défi du jury a été de réduire à quelques prix une sélection d’une très grande qualité. Les séries présentaient une grande diversité à la fois par leurs nationalités mais aussi par leurs thématiques. Nous sommes vraiment dans un âge d‘or de la télévision et cela a été un des plus beaux moments de ma vie que de le célébrer en participant à ce jury ».
 

 

GRAND PRIX :

YOUR HONOR


Série israélienne créée par Shlomo Mashiach et Ron Ninio. Réalisée par Ron Ninio. Produite par Koda Communication, yes-DBS, elle sera diffusée en Israël par yes.
Selon le jury « […]Your Honor, cette surprenante et provocante réflexion sur la question du discernement, incarnée par un jeu d’acteurs qui nous tient en haleine, explore les profondeurs de l’âme humaine sans vaciller devant ce que l’on y découvre.
 
PRIX SPÉCIAL DU JURY

I LOVE DICK


série américaine créée par Jill Soloway et Sarah Gubbins. Co-réalisée par Jill Soloway, Andrea Arnold, Kimberly Peirce et Jim Frohna. Produite par Amazon Studios, elle sera diffusée aux États-Unis et en France par Amazon Prime Video.
Dans une représentation inédite, originale et vivifiante où la passion s’évanouit et renait, I Love Dick est à la fois intellectuelle, charnelle et extrêmement cocasse – elle nous fait rire tout en donnant à réfléchir déclare le jury avec enthousiasme.
 
PRIX D’INTERPRÉTATION FÉMININE

ANNA FRIEL – BROKEN


Anna Friel, pour sa prestation dans la série anglaise Broken créée par Jimmy McGovern, Shaun Duggan, Colette Kane et Nick Laether. Co-réalisée par Ashley Pearce et Noreen Kershaw. Produite par Jimmy McGovern, Donna Molloy, Colin McKeown et Sean Bean, cette série sera prochainement diffusée au Royaume-Uni par BBC One.
Anna Friel incarne son personnage avec une sincérité absolue. […] Dans sa remarquable interprétation, elle nous convainc de la pertinence du choix du titre de la série « BROKEN ».
 
PRIX D’INTERPRÉTATION MASCULINE

KIDA KODHR RAMADAN – 4 BLOCKS


Kida Khodr Ramadan, pour sa prestation dans la série allemande 4 Blocks créée par Marvin Kren, Hanno Hackfort, Bob Konrad, Richard Kropf. Réalisée par Marvin Kren. Produite par Wiedmann & Berg Television, elle sera diffusée en Allemagne par TNT Serie.
L’interprétation toute en nuances de Kida Khodr Ramadan tangue entre brutalité et compassion. Il dégage une puissance et une émotion à l’état brut dans ce rôle, certes déjà connu au cinéma mais qu’il reprend de façon totalement inédite, pour le rendre à la fois imprévisible et incontestablement humain reconnait le jury.
 

 

PRIX DU PUBLIC

Il récompense la série « coup de cœur » parmi les nouveaux titres en saison 1, soumis au vote à l’issue des projections.
 

THE GOOD FIGHT


série américaine créée par Phil Alden Robinson, Robert King, Michelle King, Ryan Pedersen, Joey Scavuzzo. Co-réalisée par Brooke Kennedy et Allan Arkush. Produite par CBS Television Studios en association avec Scott Free Productions et King Size Productions, cette série sera diffusée aux États-Unis par CBS All Access.
 

 

COMPÉTITION FRANÇAISE

Compétition de séries françaises inédites, rassemblées dans une section spécifique et diffusées pour la première fois, en présence de leurs équipes. Section évaluée par un jury de la presse internationale et récompensée par :
 
PRIX DE LA MEILLEURE SÉRIE

TRANSFERTS


série française créée par Claude Scasso et Patrick Benedek. Réalisée par Olivier Guignard et Antoine Charreyron. Produite par Panama Productions, Filmagine, Be Films et ARTE, elle sera diffusée en France par ARTE.
 
PRIX D’INTERPRÉTATION FÉMININE

OPHÉLIA KOLB – ON VA S’AIMER UN PEU, BEAUCOUP…


Ophélia Kolb actrice de la série On va s’aimer, un peu… beaucoup. Créée par Emmanuelle Rey-Magnan et Pascal Fontanille. Produite par Merlin Productions, Fontaram Productions et France Télévisions. Son diffuseur en France sera France 2.
 
PRIX D’INTERPRÉTATION MASCULINE

ARIEH WORTHALTHER – TRANSFERTS


Arieh Worthalter, acteur de la série Transferts. Cette série sera diffusée en France par ARTE.
 

 
MEMBRES DU JURY :
Malik Cocherel (Journal de Montréal et Huffington Post Québec)
Henry Chu (Variety)
Susanna Alperina (The Russian Newspaper)
Cecilie Asker (Aftenposten)
 

 

PRIX DE LA DÉCOUVERTE

Attribué à la série qui a secoué les codes sériels lors du festival, par l’Association Française des Critiques de Séries (A.C.S.).
 

MISSIONS

série française créée par Julien Lacombe, Henri Debeurme et Ami Cohen. Réalisée par Julien Lacombe. Produite par Empreinte Digitale, cette série sera diffusée en France par OCS.
 
MEMBRES DU JURY :
Julia Baudin (TV Mag)
Florian Etcheverry (Clapmag)
Anne Héligon (Les Fiches du cinéma)
Guillaume Nicolas (Daily Mars)
Marie Turcan (Business Insider)
 

 

PANORAMA INTERNATIONAL / PRIX DES BLOGUEURS

Compétition de premières françaises et européennes de séries internationales, récompensée par un PRIX DES BLOGUEURS.
 

JUDA


série israélienne créée par Zion Baruch. Réalisée par Meni Yaesh. Produite par United Studios of Israel, cette série sera diffusée en Israël par HOT et en France par SFR Play.
 
MEMBRES DU JURY :
Agathe Gardie (Séries Chéries)
Gwendal Guillemoto (Les Plumes Asthmatiques)
Laurine Sassano (Broadcasting Bino)
David Speranski (Retro-HD)
Thomas Wachnicki (Smallthings)
 

 

SÉRIES WEB ET DIGITALES

Compétition de séries web et digitales en première mondiale, projetée en salle avant leur mise en ligne, récompensée par un Prix de la meilleure série web et digitale, par un jury de professionnels.
 

LOULOU


Loulou est une série web française créée par Alice Vial, Louise Massin et Marie Lelong. Réalisée par Fanny Sidney. Produite par La Onda Productions (Thibaud Ader), elle sera diffusée en France et en Allemagne par ARTE Creative.
 
MEMBRES DU JURY :
Jérôme Fansten (réalisateur de la série digitale Amnesia)
Eric Laroche (directeur du développement chez Empreinte Digitale)
Titiou Lecoq (romancière et journaliste pour Slate.fr)
 

 
Par ailleurs, LE COUP DE CŒUR DES INTERNAUTES, a été décerné à

AHI AFUERA / OUT THERE

créée et réalisée par Nicolas Perez Veiga, cette série digitale sera diffusée par Studio +